top of page
  • Stephanie Roberts

Week 2

Updated: Mar 19, 2020



 

Plan for the week:

To plan and start my 'Happy' demo.


Thursday 5th March 2020


PRACTICAL SKILL

Today I started a demo to which I already planned ideas for. This is to be my 'Happy' song that is going to be included in my EP.


Over the weekend I had been playing around of Ableton experimenting with chord progressions. I found one that, to me, sounds light but not too miserable. It's a major minor chord progression.


Am, C, Em, F


Alongside this I came up with a melody to go with the progression. It accompanies the progression well and makes it interesting.


For the speed of the song that I decided that is should be 101bpm, a typical pop/R&B/country bpm. It's not overly fast and not extremely slow, it's a comfortable bpm.


A features I want to include in this song are claps. Claps are usually relate to happiness and are included in most pop songs. I think claps will help brighten the mood.



Firstly, I opened up logic, set the bpm and recorded the chord progression as a MIDI piano. I recorded the chord progression in 4 bars and began a loop. Needing a beat I added a logic drummer and made the pattern they played simple and soft. Once I found a rhythm I was happy with I continued.


Continuing with percussion I implemented a MIDI clap on the off beat. I may possible record myself clapping and add effects. I think that would be a fun exercise to do.


Next, I picked up an electric guitar, plugged it in though the DI and recorded my pre-planned melody. For this I used an amp with a clean tone from logic since I hadn't thought about what effects the guitar should have. Sifting through some more amps presets I found an amp called 'Multi-Phase Face' which has a flanger and delay effect to it; Letting what I had loop I came up with a lick that worked well with the piece.


After guitar I experimented with synths. Weird crazy synths would not work with this song however and fairly clean tone synth would. So after a while of experimenting I found a suitable synth, Vintage Doppler. It's clean and not too supports chords & bass


*MIDI bass for now - follows chords, plays root notes of each chords. Will record with real bass next time I'm in the studio


Lastly I recorded acoustic guitar. I had bought it into the studio.

Acoustic guitar to replace MIDI piano - it sounds a lot more lighthearted this way.

Tried a different mic technique over the X/Y - this is just a demo so if I don't like it I can change it.


This is me just having experimented playing the chord progression on acoustic guitar.



So far I'm really vibing with this demo. I really like and enjoy this demo so far. This was the quickest I have created a demo and ideas came to me quickly.

To me it doesn't sound sad

I could incorporate happy lyrics


RESEARCH

For recording acoustic guitar I used a new technique that is similar to X/Y. I used the ORTF stereo technique. This technique is used to"mimic the way human ears hear"Sweetwater. (2016).


For my recording we used Neumann KM 183 (small diaphragm condenser) microphones and placed them at a 110° arch away from each other.


Compared to the X/Y technique where the microphones are almost touching. This technique has the microphones almost facing either end of a guitar. It captures more sound of the room.





PROBLEM SOLVING

It took multiple takes to record guitar as I had not practiced enough. I will practise until I re-record everything neatly.




FEEDBACK

Technician:

*I could change chord progression up a key

*EQ acoustic so I can hear the strumming


Friends:

After college I shared the bounce down with a few of my friends. They all said it was sad sounding.

This stumped me. So I'm unsure if I should continue with this or try creating something else.


Lecturer:

It has a major minor sound.

Uplifting but not happy.

Not extremely sad.

*For the chorus to have a major chord progression

*If I include lyrics to play with happy and sad lyrical content

He was impressed that I did this in a day.



To continue and improve this demo.

*Chorus = MAJOR chord progression

* Reverse cymbal

* More synths



Saturday 7th March 2020


This evening I was playing acoustic guitar and came up with another downhearted melody.


This melody sounds sad and depressing with the timbre of the acoustic guitar.

Listening to this now, the sense of sadness could be portrayed better if I played this more slowly.


 

Evaluation of the week:


 

Bibliography


Sweetwater. (2016). [online] Available at: <https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/7-stereo-miking-techniques-you-should-try/> [Accessed 5 March 2020].



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page